Danielle's Blog Spot

Reviving a Career with Emerging Media

Posted on: June 26, 2009

This is part 2 of my text messaging as new media (touching on blogs and online videos and social networking).

The past 24 hours has been a worldwind of coverage about the death of The King of Pop Michael Jackson.  This historic event in entertainment history is right up there with the unexpected death of Elvis Presley.  My mom ha mentioned that everyone will remember where they were when they heard that Michael Jackson died as they did when Elvis died.  This brings me to text messages as a way of delivering news.  There are news applications for phones where a user can subscribe to be sent current up to date news headlines.  How did I hear about it?  Through a text message.  A coworker received a text message from a friend, which was an unconfirmed account.  A woman in my checkout line received a text message alert and I thought she was going to burst out in tears as she shouted, “Michael Jackson’s dead!” My last blog referred to text messaging as the new word of mouth advertisement and it’s not failing me yet.  The new word of mouth is more like word of text.  I myself received several texts from friends trying to get ahold of me to tell me the news.

Due to this tragic passing, we’ve seen a career reserected by emerging media.  As Fox News has been reporting Michael Jackson has been the top search over the past 24 hours and there was a blackout on Twitter due to a communications jam of everyone posting Twitter posts over the incident.  Fifteen of the top bestsellers in music on Amazon.com are Michael Jackson albums (all of which just entered the top 100 in the past day).  The top 12 bestsellers in music and TV are Michael Jackson videos, concerts, and movies.  Eleven of the top 20 mp3s on Amazon are Michael Jackson songs and albums. Almost all of the celebrity updates on MySpace has been celebrities expressing their saddeness and condolences.  YouTube has devoted the top section of their homepage to Michael Jackson videos.  One celebrity with an insightful blog to the demons haunting Jackson was written by ex wife and friend Lisa Marie Presley.  I’ll share an excert (full credit given to the lovely Ms. Presley of course):

“Years ago Michael and I were having a deep conversation about life in general.  I can’t recall the exact subject matter but he may have been questioning me about the circumstances of my Fathers Death. At some point he paused, he stared at me very intensely and he stated with an almost calm certainty, “I am afraid that I am going to end up like him, the way he did.” I promptly tried to deter him from the idea, at which point he just shrugged his shoulders and nodded almost matter of fact as if to let me know, he knew what he knew and that was kind of that… As I sit here overwhelmed with sadness, reflection and confusion at what was my biggest failure to date, watching on the news almost play by play The exact Scenario I saw happen on August 16th, 1977 happening again right now with Michael (A sight I never wanted to see again) just as he predicted, I am truly, truly gutted.” – LMP 2009

To a man who made millions, spent more than he made, and was desperate for a career revival, it seems as if he’s found one in death through emerging media.

To read LMP’s full MJ blog go to http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=42291868&blogID=497035326

Leave a Reply

